Red Fife Hydration

My question is about the hydration of freshly milled Red Fife flour. I recently purchased whole grain Red Fife and Yecora Rojo flours from Breadtopia. I first used the Red Fife flour in Peter Reinhart’s Whole Grain Breads 100% Whole Wheat Sandwich recipe. The instructions are creating a biga with half the flour and yeast at 75% hydration, another half of the flour in a soaker with milk and salt at 87% hydration. The final dough is assembled with more yeast, fat, sweetener, and additional flour. Final hydration is 72%. I have been using this biga/soaker method for several months with good success.

I found the hydration to be much too high when using the Red Fife flour compared to the King Arthur whole wheat or white whole wheat flours I had been using. The dough was very slack (but had a proper windowpane) and I needed to add a significant amount of extra flour to get a somewhat workable dough; final hydration was ≈63%.

The flour had been milled a few days before I recieved it and used it. Two weeks later, I baked another loaf using a lower starting hydration. The dough was more workable and the final hydration was ≈58%.

Is the behavior of the Red Fife flour due to the nature of Red Fife flour, the fact that it was freshly milled, or some other reason?

Will the Yecora Rojo flour behave similarly to the Red Fife?

Thanks!

Is this blog post when I used whole grain red fife flour only, the hydration I landed on was 75% and you can see the loaf wasn’t particularly tall and I probably could have gone lower with the hydration.

(The lead photo is 40% whole grain paired with bread flour. Click on the link to see the all red fife variation.)

I did that blog post a few years ago and wheat does change from harvest to harvest but I also wonder if perhaps your dough over-fermented? That can be a risk when you’re using fresher flour.