New starter help

I’m quite new to the sourdough world so I followed a recipe but I don’t believe it’s working. I’m on day 6 and my starter is not even bubbly. I’ve been feeding it every 12 hrs about 2tbs of each of foour and water. I’ve also used emmer flour. This is my starter this morning.

Please help I’m almost giving up on it :persevere::sob: what do I need to do?

I think you’ll find useful info here:

Going to step in here (maybe I shouldn’t) but will anyways. I have a Telegram channel where I post recipes and chat. Those on my channel have all used my method and EVERYONE has active starter before the end of the first week. Usually by day 5 they are making bread with their starter.

Now I agree with the last post above that different grains/flours will develop differently. If you are new at this I say STOP! Only use the whole grain on the first day AND THEN SWITCH TO all purpose flour for the balance of the time. I do not mind sharing my procedure which has a lot of information to understand what and why you are doing but don’t want to deal with the markup language on Breadtopia. Really this is not a big deal and NOT something you should be stressing over. Both of my girls have never baked bread before let alone sourdough OR MAKING a starter. Both did it successfully the first time. Feel free to contact me if you wish. geezerbaker93 at gmail.com

1 Like

I did use all purpose flour for the last few feedings :upside_down_face:

If you want to take this further I don’t mind helping. 5 to 7 days is all you should need providing you have a decent room temperature.

Thanks, I’m in the UK so temperatures have dropped the past few days where it was freezing outside and I left the starter on the counter in the kitchen. I think I’ll start over with AP flour as this one is already on day 7 and just smells like nail polish. I’ve been feeding just flour the last two feedings :pensive: