Eric's Easy Bake Series - Episode 3

Originally published at: http://breadtopia.com/erics-easy-bake-sandwich-bread/
Great Sandwich Bread Sometimes a crusty artisan loaf with big holes doesn’t quite cut it. For sandwiches, a bread that’s light and tender, easy to chew, flavorful but not overpowering, kid friendly yet wholesome is often the way to go. This bread is it. As with the previous Easy Bake episodes, there’s not a lot of precise measuring going…

you mentioned we could use yeast but you didn’t say how much…how much yeast and appx how much flour are you using. as I am new to bread making any additional information about measurements of ingredients is appreciated.

Hi carrml:

Welcome to bread baking! The quantities Eric mentioned were: between 1/4 teaspoon and 1/2 teaspoon of instant dry yeast (see 1:27 of the video); and 3c of flour - to start with - (see 2:27 of the video), adding more as needed.

Hope this helps. Enjoy and cheers!

Dear Eric,
Well, I made Bread #1, the whole grain, using Turkey Red and Spelt, with a little white thrown in and a wee skosh of yeast. Might have let it proof a little too long, but got quite a nice oven spring. It’s great! We might put a little honey in it next time.

Now I’m working on that sandwich bread I’ve been looking forward to. My baking pans are 9 x 4, but I don’t know whether that’s considered standard or large. Takes about 6 cups of flour for two loaves. Not measuring this stuff is making me nervous because I couldn’t seem to get the dough to be not so floppy and wet, kept having to add flour. Seems like I must have used 6 cups! Don’t know whether I’m making one loaf or two! Well, finally I said that’s enough stretching, kneading or whatever, and covered it to rise. Which is where it is now. I know it will taste good no matter what it looks like.
Marilyn in Oklahoma