Uses for Type 85 Wheat flour

I purchased 5 pounds of Central Milling Type 85 Wheat flour for a specific recipe That bread is wonderful, however, I would like to use the Type 85 in additional recipes. I have read that it is approximately halfway between white and whole wheat flour. Is it possible to use it to replace of part of the bread flour and part of the whole wheat in recipes? Does anyone have any other suggestions for how to best make use of this flour?
Thank You!!

@junefdavidson I’m no expert, by any means, but I’ve read about Central Milling Type 85 Wheat flour makes me think it could be used as the bread flour in other recipes that call for a portion of bread flour. This is just strictly my opinion so I do definitely defer to our resident “experts” @Fermentada and @homebreadbaker for their answer.

Baking blessings,
Leah

One use would be to make a miche-style French bread, a country loaf. Several of my bread books give instructions to make some approximation of Pain Poilâne. Your Type 85 flour would be about right for that. A number of German breads also call for 850 wheat flour, which is the German designation for French type 85.

1 Like

Thank you both for your responses. The bread I have made with the type 85 is a wonderful Einkorn Miche recipe from the Perfect Loaf website.
I do make this periodically, however, I would also like to be able to use the type 85 for other types of bread that include bread flour and/ or whole wheat. How would you suggest going about this?
Thanks again!
June