Steam Ovens?

Does anybody have any experience with “steam ovens”? I am remodeling a kitchen and I have an out-sized budget for the kitchen appliances. I have been dreaming of an oven that could provide the steam at the beginning of the bake for decades. Is this my chance? Dacor has an oven that has a “steam bake” option. Half a dozen other brands do also. Do any of them work? Has anybody used any one? Please share your experience! Thanks.

1 Like

I have no such experience, but I now have a serious case of oven envy.

me too lol

@zarnuk You might check out the info in this thread. If you @ someone with a question they’ll get a notification.

A dear friend and fellow bread enthusiast went through a kitchen remodel just last year. I tried to entice her into being the guinea pig. Alas! My trickery failed! She chickened out. :stuck_out_tongue:

By the way… there seems to be serious disruption of all distribution channels during the pandemic, especially anything that crosses international borders. The local appliance store was carrying Miele until just last week! I will have to negotiate with them to see if I can persuade them to participate in product maintenance / warranty support when the pandemic finally ends.

Bummer, and now you’re the guinea pig lol

International supply chains do indeed seem to be less predictable if not cut off. Fingers crossed for some return to normalcy in the coming months…year… :grimacing:

The local appliance store is still selling and supporting Wolf. I see that Wolf offers some convection-steam ovens, but I have no idea how well the work for bread baking. Does anybody have a recommendation for places to look for reviews? Thanks.

I have a Wolf range. This one:

https://www.subzero-wolf.com/wolf/ranges/dual-fuel/30-inch-dual-fuel-range-4-burners