Sourdough Cottage Loaf

This is the comment thread for the Breadtopia blog post originally published here:

To leave a comment, click the Reply button below

If you do not see the “Reply” button, you will need to log in or register an account. Please click the blue “Log In” button in the upper right of the page. :arrow_upper_right:

1 Like

I’ve been making Cottage Loaves for over 40 years. My recipe comes from Elizabeth David’s “English Bread and Yeast Cookery.” Her chapter title is “Virginia Woolf bakes bread.” I bought the book when my wife was devouring Woolf’s books, so I determined (correctly) that she’d like to devour the bread Woolf made as well.

David’s ingredients are just unbleached flour, and 81 extraction wheat flour, water, salt, and yeast. (I’ve made it sourdough as well, and it works.)

Interestingly, her final proof is only 10 minutes in a cold oven. After 30 minutes of baking she covers it with a cloche until near the end of the bake. Both late cloche and cold oven are unique techniques to me. The resulting bread is wonderful. I have no idea if Virginia Woolf would have recognized it as her recipe.

1 Like

This looks marvelous and I’ve been wanting to make one of these for years. I’m now excited that I can start with a sourdough version. Could you give us some sense of timing? Is a bread I can/should start in the evening? morning? Thanks!

@fermentzed That’s really interesting. I guess the cloche on top at the end is to keep it from browning excessively :thinking: The bread does take a long time to get up to temperature in the center, so if you like a light crust that would make sense.
I’m thinking that if you have 10 minutes of proofing and a cold start that’s almost like another 10-15 minutes of proofing as the oven warms up. I think that would be a good amount of time for a yeast proof.