Novice question: is Sourdough crumb a bit gummy?

I’ve just made my third sourdough loaf which rose beautifully in the oven in my fabulous Breadtopia oblong clay baker. I used the cold start baking method.
The loaf was lightly browned when I took the lid off at 60 minutes so I left it in for another 10 and it browned a little more. Not as dark as many I’ve seen, but it looked fine to me.
I let it cool for an hour before cutting to try a slice, and it was delicious. But I noticed the crumb felt a little tacky and my bread knife had a thin gummy residue on it.
Is that normal? Or should I have let it bake longer? Or cool longer?
I’m new to sourdough (and bread baking) so I’m not sure what the crumb is supposed to be like.
Appreciate any shared wisdom … Thanks!

I’ve generally gotten better results with the crust by baking loaves covered for about 20-30 minutes and then uncovered for about 20-30 minutes rather than leaving the cover on for as long as you did.

I’ve only ever had that “gummy” result when I either didn’t bake long enough, or didn’t allow the loaf to cool long enough, or both. If you get the internal temperature of the loaf up over 200f for a bit and you have a nicely browned crust and you let it cool for long enough, then it should not be gummy and your bread knife should cut it cleanly without leaving any residue.

1 Like

Thanks Paul, that’s very helpful. Especially the internal temp. Next time I’ll remove the lid sooner and have the Thermapen handy.