No knead fridge fermented really works!

I’ve been making no knead whole wheat sourdough for a few years, but two changes have made my loaves near perfect.

The first was buying Eric’s clay bakers. So far I’ve only used the boule, but it has immensely helped baking over the stone I was using before. My loaves aren’t flat anymore :slight_smile:

The second was using a 2 day fridge fermentation. The quality and feel of the dough was incredible compared to a normal 16 hr rise. It also only took 10 hr to rise after coming out of the fridge - and that’s starting from 40 degrees.

It’s still cooling as I write this, so pictures of crumb will come later. I’m happy with the new process. And Eric’s equipment recommendations have always been helpful.!

IMG_0095|666x500

1 Like

Are you using 100% whole wheat? If so, what kind? Any chance it is fresh ground???

This one was 70% milled whole wheat (red wheat), 30% unbleached white. I ground the red wheat before using it in this loaf.

Interior crumb came out well

1 Like

Awesome! Do you ever use 100% whole wheat or 100% whole grain? I love to grind my own flour and I use a mixture of berries. I do an overnight soaked dough for a sandwich loaf, which turns out pretty well, but not as well as I’d like (I don’t use any commercial dough enhancers or vital wheat gluten at all). I’m still working towards the perfect 100% whole wheat sandwich loaf that is soaked for the health benefits. If I could use my starter for that, even better!

1 Like

Beautiful!

Yes I do, but not yet with this recipe. This loaf was my first one with the cold fermentation and I wanted a trial with a less dense dough. The next time I make it I’ll lkely use 100% milled wheat to see how it works.

That looks wonderful!