No knead bread burnt bottom

Hello all, just signed up with breadtopia.com and this is my first post. I was never a baker, but now started Corona No knead bread. On my 6th or 7th loaf. I have made regular, rye, cinnamon raisin and have been getting better on each one. First thing I did was buy an oven thermometer. This helped, I need a new oven, but all in due time. Anyway, the bottom of my first no knead was burnt, not bad, but enough. It was very thick on bottom also. Next time I adjusted the temp, with my crappy oven, who knows if the temp went up or down, hello new stove, all in due time. I use a LeCreuset 5.5 round porcelain enameled DO. Each time the bread would get better, but still not good enough. As I am writing this, I have a loaf rising, quick recipe, and am going to put a sheet pan on the rack just below DO. For those of you wondering, I can’t put DO directly on sheet pan. Does anyone have any other tips for me, the absolute beginner baker? Oh, I preheat oven with DO in at 450, put bread in and lower to 425 for 25-35 min, uncover, bake at 400 for 15 or so, I eyeball. I hope that I haven’t forgotten to add anything, oh yeah, have my eye on an LG double oven. Thanks no knead bread for making me realize that I need a new stove.

Hi, welcome. It may or may not help you, but I do double up on the parchment paper in the bottom of the DO. Seems like a small thing, but that works well for me.

Good luck.

Hi Ryan, thanks for your input. After searching for what seemed like all day, I did exactly what you said, it worked. I was thrilled. I folded parchment into a square that fit on the bottom of DO, and I also put a sheet pan on the rack directly below. Came out perfectly.

3 Likes

@traceyjessie : Sounds like you have your problem solved, but here’s another tip, especially if you bake frequently. I had the same problem when I first began and solved it by using the round flat portion of a common spring form baking pan—the round thing with the clip on the side.