Maggie Glezer’s Sourdough Challah

A baker posted Maggie Glezer’s Sourdough Challah in his blog and raved about it so I decided that I needed to give it a go. I’ve always loved challah but have never had a sourdough one. This is my first time plaiting dough and my first time making a challah of any sort. I followed his posted recipe except for a few minor changes and one mistake. I don’t keep a firm starter so just used my 100% hydration rye starter. I also made this as one larger loaf rather than his two smaller ones. I also accidentally used olive oil instead of a neutral oil for more than half of the oil component. We’ll see if that has a negative effect on the flavour.

Ingredients
The starter Amount (gms)
Active sourdough starter 35
Warm water 80
Bread flour 135
The final dough
Warm water 60
Large Eggs 3 eggs + 1 egg for glazing the loaves.
Salt 8
Vegetable oil 55
Mild honey 65
Or Granulated sugar 60
Bread flour 400
Sourdough levain 200

Procedures

1. The night before baking, mix the starter and ferment it at room temperature for 8-12 hours.
  2. In the morning, in a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, dissolve the starter in the water, then mix in the 3 eggs, salt, honey and oil until completely combined.
  3. Mix in all the bread flour until it forms a shaggy mass.
  4. Knead the dough on the bench or in a stand mixer until it is smooth and there is moderate gluten development. (Add small amounts of water or flour to achieve the desired consistency, better if you do not have to) The dough should be quite firm.
  5. Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl and cover it tightly. Ferment for about 2 hours. It may not rise much.
  6. To make one loaf, divide the dough into two equal portions, and divide each portion into the number of pieces needed for the type of braiding you plan to do, so divid each by 3 to make 1 six strand braided loaf.
  7. Form each piece into a ball and allow them to rest, covered, for 10-20 minutes to relax the gluten.