How to Nixtamalize Corn for Tortillas, Tamales, Posole and More

This is the comment thread for the Breadtopia blog post originally published here:

To leave a comment, click the Reply button below

If you do not see the “Reply” button, you will need to log in or register an account. Please click the blue “Log In” button in the upper right of the page. :arrow_upper_right:

Melissa, this is a thorough, well done and practical guide to nixtamalization. Thank you. I have been nixtamalizing dried corn for a couple years and continue to experiment. I can testify that the corn flavor radiates any dish when you take the time to nixtamalize at home. In addition to posole, tamales, and tortillas, I have branched out into encorporating nixtamal into less traditional dishes such as buttermilk cornbread - using 100% corn (50% nitxamal, 50% corn meal). No need for wheat flour, so gluten intolerant folks can enjoy it. There are so many varieties of corn available to try. Just to add a comment on posole from Masienda, Heirloom White Cacahuazintle Corn is their preferred variety for posole.

What a great idea to do cornbread with only corn, and half of it nixtamal for binding (and flavor too I’m sure).
Thanks for the tip regarding cacahuazintle.
(I just went down the language rabbit hole because the word is so similar to cacahuete, peanut in Spanish. Both must come from the Nahuatl word, cacahuatl for cocoa bean.)

Great article! Thank you also, kkdohrer, for your tip on cornbread. My daughter is gluten intolerant, so I would be very interested in a recipe for nixtamal/cornmeal cornbread.