How to get an open crumb using a stiff dough

I am posting my failures on 2 bakes I have had using a technique off Breadwerx. I also included the URL for anyone that has not seen. I think my issue is actually the protein content of the Turkey Red in attempting this but I am no expert BY NO MEANS. Each direction is followed by what I did in strong text.

My bake diary:

Breadwerx Boule http://www.breadwerx.com/how-to-get-open-crumb-from-stiff-dough-video/#comment-2119

(First Bake)
460g whole wheat flour
Used Turkey Red Heritage whole wheat, unsifted
290g water
10g salt
55g starter

Directions:
Mix flour water and salt, refrigerate until bedtime then remove and let sit on counter to warm.

Dough was on the wet side but manageable. It was elastic and had structure to it

In morning add starter and dimple in, rolling in as necessary per video. Typically 3 rounds of folds until dough tightens up.

Dough turned very sticky almost gooy and lost all the structure. It was extremely extensible.

Bulk ferment for about 6 hours. Every 2 hours do a stretch and fold (S&F) total of 3

Each successive S&F made the dough worse. Dough did not rise but spread out. Thinking there must have been something wrong with the starter I tried to save by adding ½ teaspoon of instant yeast and folded in. Dough became very active and puffed up.

Pre-round into boule.

Dough degassed completely, sticky, very messy, dipping hand in water made it worse

Shape boule for baking.

Bake at 450F

Results:
Boule flattened out to a 1 1/2” pancake. Crumb very dry, more like a quick bread. Made bread crumbs out of it.
Observations/Questions: Was starter bad or was the proteins in the flour degraded by the long autolyse?

Breadwerx Boule
(Second Bake)

436g Turkey Red flour: sifted through a 40 and 50 mesh screen. Added 19g of Vital Wheat Gluten
24g whole wheat flour
290g water
10g salt
19g VWG
55g starter