Getting a mill what berries to start with

I’m only been baking for a month or so. I’ve made sourdough,rye bread, bagels, pretzels, ciabatta, baguettes and pizza. I’ve been using bobs red mill flours and Italian 00 flour, my friends and family love what I’ve been baking and everyone tells me it’s better that what’s at local bakeries. I am CIA alumni but in school I hated baking and never did any during my career. Now I’m retired and decided to experiment with baking. I still have a ways to go towards perfection but I’m happy with my progress. I was wondering what wheat berries should I buy with my mill (Mockmill 200) that I’m planning to purchase and get started. I was thinking of starting with rye, hard red spring, hard white, organic heirloom red fife, heirloom rough de Bordeaux. Just 5# of each to see what I like and what’s different about them. Are there any other berries I should consider or are my choices over kill and should I just keep it simple. I’m a very capable chef and I know how to follow recipes and I’m good at getting results as I’m able to see what’s developing and make corrections as needed. Baking is new to me however and I’m quickly learning what to do. One hobby of mine is when I find something I like at a restaurant I make what I consider is an improved version this was related to my previous business where I developed menus and recipes for my clients.
Here is a photo of a sourdough rye I just made.

1 Like

Congrats on diving into baking. That loaf looks beautiful. I’d add a bag of durum or Kamut to your list – kinda unique nutty golden wheats that are great for pasta or bread.

@Brian10956 Morning, Brian! That’s a beautiful looking rye bread! I may have to bake a rye bread soon.