Fresh milled flour in bread baking

Hi. I’m new to milling my own flour. I have a MockMill 100 and purchased various wheat berries to use primarily for bread baking. I’ve made a few unsuccessful loaves using different recipes…all have been undercooked in the middle and also cratered during cooking. I’m not sure what the problem is. I have adjusted the recipes to accommodate the fresh milled berries instead of store bought flour. Also, for one of my attempts, I used sprouted hard white wheat berries and that loaf was particularly bad. Any advise on would be helpful. Also wondering if there is something to be done differently if you use purchased sprouted wheat berries as opposed to unsprouted wheat berries. Thanks for any help.

When I transitioned to home-milling, I didn’t find a difference in flour performance except that my home-milled flour was a tiny bit more thirsty than the flour produced by Breadtopia’s large stone mill. Are you also transitioning to using whole grain flour exclusively for the first time as well as home-milled? The whole grain aspect may be the bigger learning curve.

Either way, it sounds like maybe the dough is over-fermenting – I’m going off the “cratered during baking” description you give. Whole grain flour ferments faster than refined flour, and sprouted whole grain flour even faster.

If you’re following a recipe that gives time parameters, try to ignore them in favor of looking at the dough, and keep in mind that there will be fewer bubbles on the surface of a whole grain dough, even if it is very developed and webby inside.

If you haven’t already seen this blog post, it may be a helpful read for understanding different flours.

Here is a blog post with a lot of whole grain dough process photos that show when I end the bulk fermentation and the final proof, some home-milled flour and some not.

More process photos - this blog has a 100% home milled yecora rojo bread and the comparable process on a 50:50 version with bread flour.