First Time Making Starter - Bubbles But Not Rising

Hi everyone! I’m looking for some tips for my sourdough starter. I started it 8 days ago and I am seeing bubbles, but it never doubles in size. I am in Colorado so my house is pretty dang cold… I try and keep it by the fire during the day to get some warmth so thinking it has to do with the temperature and I just need to give it time but also not sure since i’m brand new to this! I’ve been feeding it daily usually a 1:1:1 ratio but I had changed it to a 1:2:2… I have done 2 feeds a day as well and even added Whole Wheat flour instead of AP or a mix of both. I will include some photos but would love any advice!

@Abe you seem to be the master of sourdough from reading this Forum! I would love any tips and advice from you!!

From the sound of things you went a bit too early onto larger and more frequent feeds. Best advice is to feed according to the strength of the starter. If it has bubbled up then feed. If not then wait till it does so. Daily feeds of 1:1:1 is ok as long as it’s kept warm enough. The mistake was to switch to 1:2:2 and to twice a day! when it wasn’t strong enough yet.

What was your last feed? When did you feed it? And how much activity has there been?

Ok, so my last feed was yesterday at 7 PM - I fed it 30g starter, 60g water, 60g AP flour and this is where it’s at now. The temperature in my house is definitely an issue being Winter in Colorado and during the day, it sits next to our fireplace, where it is at a good temperature, but overnight it gets to about 67/68 degrees. I have kept it in the oven as well as microwave but not sure it’s any warmer and I found that keeping in the oven with the light on caused it to “cook on top”… was almost too hot!

I didn’t feed it this morning after reading a lot of these posts on the forum. It has not risen but it is bubbling a little.