Blueberry Miso Crumble Cake

To celebrate my 365 d fermented homemade red miso I decided to try something I’ve never done before. For ages I’ve seen recipes that use some miso in desserts so I decided to make this crumble cake that uses miso in the crumble topping. Instead of the white miso is substituted my red miso and because it is much stronger than white I used only 2 tbsp of it in the crumble topping.

If you’re curious about how to make miso from scratch this is the link to my post from a year ago.

CRUMBLE

¾ cup (94 g) whole wheat flour

½ cup (packed; 100 g) light brown sugar

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

3 Tbsp. white miso

CAKE

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted, slightly cooled, plus more for pan

1¾ cups (219 g) whole wheat flour, plus more for pan

1½ tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. kosher salt

¼ tsp. baking soda

2 large eggs

1 cup (packed; 200 g) light brown sugar

1 cup plain whole-milk Greek yogurt

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 pint blueberries

(Zest of 1 lemon - my addition)

SPECIAL EQUIPMENT: A 9"- spring form pan

CRUMBLE Mix whole wheat flour, brown sugar, butter, and miso in a small bowl to combine. Set aside.

CAKE Preheat oven to 350°. Butter pan, then lightly dust with whole wheat flour, tapping out excess. Whisk baking powder, salt, baking soda, and 1¾ cups whole wheat flour in a large bowl to combine. Whisk eggs, brown sugar, and yogurt in a medium bowl to combine. Add vanilla and 1 cup butter; whisk just to incorporate. Using a rubber spatula, mix in dry ingredients, being careful not to overmix, then gently fold in blueberries. Scrape batter into prepared pan and spread out evenly. Top with reserved crumble.

Bake cake, checking after 30 minutes and tenting with foil if crumble is getting very dark (some color is fine), until a tester inserted into the center comes out clean, 60–70 minutes. Let cake cool in pan at least 2 hours (so it firms up and is easier to slice).