Whole Grain Sourdough

This is the comment thread for the Breadtopia blog post originally published here:

To leave a comment, click the Reply button below

If you do not see the "Reply" button, you will need to log in or register an account. Please click the blue "Log In" button in the upper right of the page. :arrow_upper_right:

I have been making this bread for about 6 years now. It is our weekly bread. I am always pleased with the result. However, the dough is always much wetter than in the video and I also almost never get big holes in my finished product.

The starter is really strong. The starter is based on locally ground all purpose flour. The whole wheat (which is a bread flour), rye and spelt is all local as well (from Farmer Ground in NY). For bread flour, I use King Arthur’s Sir Lancelot as I have not found decent white bread flour that is local (the whole wheat bread flour makes the bread way too dense).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Shawn

Hi Shawn,

I can take a stab at the always wetter dough part. The flours you’re using may just not be absorbing as much water as the ones I used in the video. Try cutting back on the water and/or use more flour until the dough is stiffer and easier to handle.

As for the big holes issue, this recipe has a fair bit of bran in the flour due to the whole grain. Unless you sift out most of the bran, you’re not likely to get big holes at all. Just the way it is for the most part.

Hi Eric,
The recipe calls For leaving The The dough In the fridge for 24hrs. Can I leave it out for 12hrs and then form the boule and let it rise 1/2 time which is 2.5hrs?
Thanks,
Rocelle