Vital wheat gluten?

curious about vital wheat gluten… I see it in many bread recipes. is this something i dont need if i use hard canadian flour most of the time. Also, is it used to to give a gluten boost to high non gluten flour recipes, rye etc.

Im quite new at bread making but people keep asking me to make more so i must be doing something right. I just keep experimenting.

2 Likes

I have used vital wheat gluten in the past when making commercial yeast whole wheat (as in 100% or nearly 100% whole wheat) recipes to improve the texture and crumb. I don’t use it now and find that with the longer processing of sourdough/natural leaven bread making, I don’t need or want it.

I use a hard red wheat from Montana for “White” flour (WheatMontana brand … probably similar to your Canadian flour) and bolted (see the store for bolted explanation) heirloom flours from Breadtopia store for whole grain: Kamut Khorasan, Spelt, Einkorn, Rye and I want to try Red Fife. I also used bolted White Sonora which is a soft white.

You are absolutely on the right track, in my opinion, with “keep experimenting” :slight_smile: And if you get bread that you and others enjoy, without the vital wheat gluten, leave it out

Liz is right Mike you have to keep experimenting. I have been doing the “whole grain” “home milled” breads now for a year and have a list of breads and a mill room filled with different ingredients. Vital Wheat Gluten and similarly Xanthan Gum are in the cabinets. I have used these two different products in my whole grain recipes and frankly don’t know if it made much of a difference. Never did do side by side trials so my statement may not have much credence. I did though have a gummy texture to a loaf that I understand was a result of the VWG so using it a person has to be cautious with the amounts and don’t overdue.