Sourdough in a Bread Machine

I’m new to sourdough so forgive my naivete. I have an older model Panasonic bread machine which makes great French bread but has no sourdough setting. Since I really prefer sourdough, I did some research and found a bread machine sourdough recipe using the 6-hour French bread setting on my machine. Both attempts were disasters, producing loaves that didn’t rise above the halway mark, weighed like cinder blocks and had crusts that didn’t brown. The French bread recipe on my machine calls for 3 cups flour, 10.5 oz water, 2 tbs butter, 2 tsp salt and 2 tsp yeast. The sourdough recipe for the same French setting said reduce the flour to 2.5 cups and add 2 cups of sourdough starter. After my first failure I tried using a little less water, figuring the dough was too runny. I also tried final proofing overnight in a refrigerator as someone told me it would make the dough more sour. Any ideas or should I just bite the bullet and get a bread machine with a sourdough setting?

My Panasonic Model is SD-YD 250. I may have screwed up the recipe I used by dumping all the ingredients called for in the bread maker, including the dry yeast in the small yeast dispenser atop the machine, as opposed to mixing them all in a bowl and refrigerating overnight for final proofing before starting the 6-hour bread macine cycle. Or was that still wrong?

The recipe said sourdough but what do I know. I think it came from King Arthur Flour.

My friend and I came up with a formula that worked for another Panasonic bread maker that had no special sourdough setting. Looking at the manual for yours I think 30% prefermented flour using the French bread recipe but putting it on a basic bread cycle might do the trick. Leave it with me and I’ll get down a recipe and method for you. Was quite a while ago and would like to check with her first.