SD in the Tropics

I live in Darwin, Australia. The year-round temp is around 33 Celcius (91F). I am new to SD (sourdough) and are having difficulty producing a viable starter. I believe the temperature is the root cause of all my problems ( retards yeast activity and promotes LAB activity - this is my suspicion). I am wondering if others from Tropical climates can share any tips that may help me produce a reliable starter and any SD baking tips in general in relation to hot ambient temperatures and SD baking. Thanks in advance for your time and assistance.

1 Like

I live in SW Florida and it has been hot here lately! What I do is feed my starter every 12 hours (1/4 c flour + 1/4 c water). The yeast is very active in hotter climates, so I just feed more often (compared to every 24 hours). If you end up with tons of starter, you can always pour off a little (up to 50%) before a feeding.
When making bread, this is also a concern, so my proofing times are shorter than usual. Just keep an eye on your dough and you can calculate your time according to temperature.

Thanks for your reply - I thinking of (a) not a ‘stiff starter’ but quite a thick starter (b) a pinch of salt to retard the starter © and placing in the fridge. I think investing in a half decent digital thermometer will help get some all importnat metrics. However as you mention - qualitative measures are just as important to watch.

NEVER put anything but flour and water in starter. Doing so can cause all sorts of problems.