Pumpernickel Sourdough

I have been making this bread for a few years now. I can’t remember where I found the original recipe, but I remember having to tweak it to make a sourdough version. My daughter is obssessed with it, so I thought I’d share :wink:

• 1/3 c sourdough starter
  • 1 3/4 c water
  • 1/3 c molasses
  • 3 Tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 c all-purpose unbleached flour
  • 1 c rye flour
  • 1 c hard red wheat flour

Mix all ingredients. It will be quite sticky!
Let dough sit 15 minutes, then sprinkle with all-purpose flour and mix/fold. Repeat three times. At this point, you can knead it with your hands and place in a clean, oiled bowl for overnight rising. I allowed mine 15 hours, since it has been chilly here.

In the morning, form the dough into a boule and proof for about 2-3 hours.

Bake at 450F for 20 minutes on a pre-heated baking stone. I threw in about 1/4 cup water before shutting my oven door to set the crust. Then, reduce the heat to 400F for 10 minutes more.

Internal temp. of the loaf should be 200F at this point. If not, reduce oven temp to 375F and bake for 10-15 minutes more.

I am not really precise about my starter hydration, but I’m pretty sure it is close to 100%.

3 Likes

Looks delicious! I will give it a try…

1 Like

I just sampled a slice from my first bake - YUM! Thanks for the recipe!!