Novice Starter

I have been working and establishing a starter for about two weeks. I am at a stage of a small container with daily feedings. I am getting a rise with lots of bubbles visible through the glass. When I do the float test it sinks, not ready. I keep up with my feedings with the same float test everyday. No idea what I am doing wrong.

I’ve been baking sourdough for about 7 years now and in that time have made many starters. Only once have I ever done a float test and it sank. Made bread with the starter anyway. Turned out very nice! If the starter rises then so should your dough. A dough is basically starter with developed gluten and some salt. If you wish to conduct a small experiment then make a small piece of dough and see if it rises…

20g starter
70g water
100g bread flour
2g salt

Combine and knead till full gluten formation. Leave for 4-6 hours and see if it rises. If it does then use this piece of dough as a pate fermentee as a starter for a large loaf. No need for it to go to waste. Or bake it into a bun.

1 Like

What Abe said. I occasionally do the float test, just for the heck of it, but usually I don’t bother. If your starter doubles some number of hours after you feed it, and if it is full of bubbles, then you should be good to go. If there are yeasties in your starter and you add them to flour and water to make bread dough, you are giving them food and they will respond.

I find my starter may float if I attempt the float test right around the time the starter has peaked after feeding. But I often add starter to dough straight from the refrigerator or hours after it has peaked, and usually everything works well.