No Knead Bread

This is the comment thread for the Breadtopia blog post originally published here:

###To leave a comment, click the Reply button below
If you do not see the “Reply” button, you will need to log in or register an account. Please click the blue “Log In” button in the upper right of the page. :arrow_upper_right:

I am getting some black areas on the top of my bread after it comes out of the dutch oven in the oven. They are several inches long and are just like a black streak about the size of a finger. It happened the last two loafs I have made. Only happens in the emile henry dutch oven. Any thoughts?

I am just getting started and making a ton of mistakes. I am having the most trouble shaping the boule. Today I tried shaping it and then letting it rise in a proofing basket for 1.5 hours. Then I flipped it onto a floured board so that I could score the top before sliding it into the dutch oven. When I flipped it onto the floured board, it hadn’t retained any shape from the proofing basket and was just a big blob. Any advice?

For the most part, no-knead recipes are too wet to be able to do much in the way of shaping. It can be a real struggle at first to get the hang of handling such wet dough. Here is a pretty good video which might help with some ideas:

Keep at it and you will learn your own way of dealing with it.

When I am making a wet no-knead recipe, I don’t expect it to hold much shape after the second proof, so I always bake them in my Romertopf clay baker with very high sides and I turn the dough out directly from the proofing basket into the pre-heated clay baker and then score it (to whatever degree you can score such wet dough) in the baker before putting the top on.