Naturally Leavened Einkorn Bread

This is the comment thread for the Breadtopia blog post originally published here:

To leave a comment, click the Reply button below

If you do not see the “Reply” button, you will need to log in or register an account. Please click the blue “Log In” button in the upper right of the page. :arrow_upper_right:

1 Like

Thanks, Melissa, this is wonderful! I have experimented with einkorn in the past using my usual method and have ended up with delicious frisbees. I finally gave up on trying to make bread out of the stuff and used it just as a cooked grain (which is quite delicious and cooks much more quickly that other wheats.) I’m lucky to have a local organic grower, so I’ll give this a try for my next bake. You rock!

I have been baking with einkorn for about 5 years now. I use both whole grain and all purpose einkorn. It is my standard flour for everything. Sourdough is always my leaven of choice but sometimes I do use a small amount of Bioreal organic yeast which I get only from Breadtopia! This bread looks amazing!

Thank You so much for posting this info. on einkorn. I’ve been wondering about it and can’t wait to try the recipes!
A couple of questions:

1. Can non-dairy (almond or coconut) “milk” be used instead of cow’s milk?
  2. For those of us who are not gluten-intolerant, can we use our regular non-einkorn sourdough starter–and if so, how would it change the recipe?
    :grinning: :grinning: :grinning:

Thanks, @wendyk320 I’ll have to try einkorn as a cooked grain. I hope you have good luck with this recipe. I had an einkorn frisbee a while back, and yes, it was delicious if hard to turn into sandwiches haha

@inthebeginningbc Wow, five years of experience. I bet you could give me an einkorn tutorial :slight_smile: I made some 50:50 einkorn: all purpose hand pies a while back, but all purpose einkorn would have been a neat choice.