Lack of oven spring in my sourdough bread

i am a relative new starter to sourdough bread. I have tried 3 stage and single stage sourdough with a rye starter. However almost ever time i bake with steam, whilst there is a volume increase, i cant get that ‘burst’ oven spring i have seen pictures off.

Am i proving for too long? Should I be using a steam oven?

any advice would be appreciated

thanks

I’m a long time baker and nearly 4 years sourdough, but I am not familiar with “3 stage”, “single stage” terminology.

BUT regards oven spring, big ear … I think those are a bit overrated. For me, the thing is the crumb and taste.

However, to your question, I get the most oven spring after a long, refrigerated bulk ferment and then a refrigerated rise after shaping … bake straight from frig to hot baker.

Something else just occurred to me as I was putting a spelt loaf in the oven and I think it applies to rye as well … the really wet doughs that are not of a texture to allow easy shaping, are also easier to score when cold. And although a loaf might “burst” on its own, good scores allow for more of a burst I think. This particular loaf was at room temp yesterday, in the frig overnight, shaped cold this morning and back in the frig for 8 hours. I am baking in a preheated clay baker, direct from the frig. The shaped loaf had risen nicely, scored well and I am fairly confident of good spring and crumb based on look and feel of the dough.

And to your question, are you proving too long. You didn’t give any info, but if the dough is overproofed, it does have no where to go and you won’t get oven spring.

Are you baking sourdough rye?