Is there a reason to have two starters

I am relatively new to baking sourdough, 2-3 months. I currently bake the Breadtopia Swedish Sourdough Rye and several different white breads. Does It really matter if I use white starter to make Rye bread or Rye starter to make white bread? Will I be able to tell the difference? What do most experienced bakers use? The rye starter seems much more robust that the white and if I had to choose one that would be it.

@jcheroki Hi! I consider myself to be a novice sourdough baker and am certainly NO teacher or expert. I have only one sourdough starter that I use for all my breads, no matter the combination of flour or type of sourdough bread I’m making. That starter is made from organic white all-purpose flour and pure spring water, whose name is Cyril. I’ve had him as my faithful happy starter since February 2018 and started baking with him in April 2018.

Lots of bakers and quite a few members on this forum do use and are partial to using and maintaining sourdough starter made from rye flour. Early last year I actually decided to take some of my faithful Cyril and turn him into a rye starter by feeding him fresh milled rye though I kept my original Cyril in a separate jar so I’d always have him. Both starters were kept in covered (though with breathable covers) glass jars in my refrigerator unless being fed. Then they sat on my kitchen counter for between 5-7 hours before being put back into the refrigerator. Reasons I developed a second starter were I wanted to see if 1) I could grow a rye and maintain a rye starter from my original starter; 2) to see if there was any appreciable difference in my bakes using the rye starter; and 3) to see if I actually felt the need to maintain two separate starters.