Flaxseed Meal Sourdough Bread

This is the comment thread for the Breadtopia blog post originally published here:

To leave a comment, click the Reply button below

If you do not see the “Reply” button, you will need to log in or register an account. Please click the blue “Log In” button in the upper right of the page. :arrow_upper_right:

1 Like

Wow! I agree with Eric, beautiful looking loaf Melissa! This definitely goes on my list of recipes to try. Just confirming, you are using a100% hydration starter, right?

Could you use home milled wheat with this recipe Melissa ?

Thanks, @djd418 : ) Yes, it’s 100% hydration starter. You can adjust the water in the recipe and use a stiffer starter though.

@Locksley Sure, and the fermentation might even go a little faster with whole grain home-milled wheat.

I’ve been adding ground flaxseed to my bread loaves for a few years now; I usually add 1 ounce (~28 grams) to 23 ounces (652 grams) total flour, from which I make 2 small pan loaves. I use fresh ground whole grain flour, usually a 50:50 mix of turkey red and kamut or spelt. I also add other ingredients, such as toasted seeds (sunflower, chia, flaxseed, sesame), pre-soaked rye or wheat whole grains, or dried fruit and nuts (eg, raisins and chopped walnuts), depending upon how I feel.

I’ve never done such a beautiful score; I just cut lengthwise down my little loaves after they’ve risen in my pans. I use a hydration of about 88-90%, following Josey Baker’s suggestion of Whole, Wild, Wet, Slow, and Bold: Whole grain flour; Sourdough starter; High hydration; Long ferments; and Long baking times. Especially the latter, if I ignore my timer for too long.

We eat the bread as open face sandwiches, or toasted. Nothing fancy. But totally delicious!