Emile Henry Baguette Mold

I have used my new Emile Henry baguette mold several times, it is easier and faster each time. I am new to making baguettes and truly I dont know why I have waited this long. I find baguettes are easy to make even easier than making loaves of bread. They can be made with a variety of ingredients to suit your tastes from plain French to cinnamon raisin and everything in between. I have made onion/garlic, garlic, plain and soon will make cheese.

Well to the point, here is the Emile Henry mold:

showing an example of the baguettes an inexperienced baguette maker can accomplish. These are not the same size as the bakery baguettes. The mold could be longer and still easily fit in a large oven, but they are a perfect size for most home ovens. Baguettes are fast, but it takes a bit of time to learn how to roll and stuff.

The easiest way I have found to stuff is to roll dough to a 9” wide 19” long (make longer than you need - they will shrink); place filling in three rows, leaving space between the rows for the dough. Then roll one row at a time; rolling then pulling back; rolling and pulling back again until almost completely molded. Paint the last dough edge with some water to help the dough to stick together; next, place in the mold with the folded end on the bottom. EH recommends your second proofing be done in the mold for 20 minutes, then placed into the preheated 460º oven for 25 minutes.

Above baguettes are stuffed with sautéed onion and garlic. EH recommend slightly brushing the top of your soft baguette dough with water to make the sugars combine and brown the top, then score the dough and lightly flour. I think that works well for me.

I find having a mold makes it simple and there are many molds, but Emile Henry Ceramic is IMHO the best. Mold is glazed on the outside, bottom inside then unglazed on the inside top; there are 3 - ¾” air holes in the top.

For more information from Emile Henry: http://tinyurl.com/zve94hq

4 Likes