Einkorn and Amaranth Sourdough Bread Revisited

This is the comment thread for the Breadtopia blog post originally published here:

To leave a comment, click the Reply button below

If you do not see the “Reply” button, you will need to log in or register an account. Please click the blue “Log In” button in the upper right of the page. :arrow_upper_right:

Another great recipe, Melissa! I am going to get amaranth and bake it as soon as possible. I will post a picture afterwards. Great job!

I can practically smell the fragrance of this bread; so excited to try it. Which version (with porridge or without) do you recommend trying first for an advanced beginner? (I don’t quite know how to describe myself. I have been baking with sourdough for several years. I am familiar with the coil and lamination techniques, and just got my milling attachment for Xmas!)

@rockspider Thanks. I can’t wait to see your loaf and hear your thoughts on the recipe and flavors.

@bonnieauslander Congrats on the new milling attachment. My advice for which recipe to try first depends on your preferences and strengths.

The porridge version is a little more time-consuming because you have to make the porridge and add it during the second stretch and fold. That’s not advanced versus beginner, though, just longer process.

It’s the hydration of the porridge recipe that can make it a little tricky if you’re not comfortable shaping and transferring wet-floppy dough. Of course, you can drop the water content of the recipe by about 20g if you’re wanting easier dough handling with the porridge version.

…long way of saying that this revisited recipe is probably easier : )

1 Like

I note that a baking sheet is added beneath a cast iron cooking vessel; does this help reduce the typical over-darkening of the bottom crust on the bread, or is there some other purpose?