Cleaning wood pulp proofing basket

I have been using the wood pulp oblong proofing basket for about 10 months and mostly love it except as of late. It has become clogged with I presume dough and the proofed loaf sticks to it like crazy dispight dusting heavily. I have tried to brush it with hard brush but that seems mostly inefective. I read that you can put them in the oven for a bit to ‘sterilize’. Will this help to clean it up? I suspect it shouldn’t be washed in water. Or do they simply have a useful life and it is near the end?

I rinse mine after each use with hot running water and a stiff dish brush, then lay them on top of the stove and use the heat from the oven to dry them. So far they’re holding up fine & I’ve been doing this for several years now.

Never tried putting them in the oven…

Sorry - I just realized you’re talking about the wood pulp baskets, not the others. Please disregard my earlier post.

I have the same question about cleaning proofing baskets and it just occurred to me to look here. The only solution I’ve come up with so far is similar to Bart’s: I blast them out under the spray nozzle in the kitchen sink and sometimes use a brush, but I don’t want to disturb the wood fibers of the basket either. Then I put them out on my deck in the warm weather. I’ve tried using my garden hose with the strongest setting on my garden nozzle.

Any other suggestions???

I had been wondering about the same thing. My baskets were so caked with spray oils and wheat bran that they seemed impossible to clean. Then the other night I left them out on the deck and when I woke up I discovered that it had rained and there was about an inch of water in each basket. To my surprise, when I scrubbed them with a vegetable brush the gunk loosened easily and now they are pretty free of all that accumulated stuff you put on the baskets to enable the dough to fall out.