Bread sticking to Proving basket liner

I’m looking for some advice, … Ive been making sourdough for about 3 years now and recently have been trying higher hydration loaves. My problem is that I’m finding during the slow retarded prove in the fridge overnight that the loaves are sticking to the proving basket cloth liner no matter how much flour I put on them. I have tried using semolina as well as flour but its still happening. It happened really badly yesterday and my loaf had to be scraped off it which then caused it to completely collapse. I thought I’d got away with it as it puffed up nicely in the oven! Today I cut into it to find that only the crust had risen and the load was very “empty” inside. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Ive watched Eric flour his proving baskets and he hardly uses a pinch Of flour whereas I “drown” mine in flour and it still sticks

image image

Might just be the flour is too hydrated. Other then that all I can suggest is using rice flour. Excellent for non stick just make sure it’s normal rice flour and not the glutinous kind. And if putting the banneton in the fridge overnight do not put it in a plastic bag. The dough can sweat and become more sticky. Instead wrap the banneton in a towel.

Thanks for those suggestions. Will give them a try👍🏼

Another tip that you may already be doing is to let your liner get “seasoned.” Of course, you’ve got to get stuck dough off, but if you have a round of baking where no chunks are left behind, simply let the liner dry out before storing it. Don’t wash. That layer of dried flour will prevent future sticking and from a food safety standpoint, it’s like dried sourdough starter – a nice microbial population.

Also flour the top of your dough before flipping it into the basket (you probably already do).

2 Likes