Artisan Rye & Round Romertoph

I have made Eric’s Artisan Rye several times and love the bread but do not get the rise (I think) I should.
I use Breadtopia’s round 8" banneton which the description says a 1.5 to 2# loaf. It appears that the oven spring is consumed in spreading out to fill the 10 " Romertoph. I keep thinking that these 2 items are a miss match as I BELIEVE the 10" Romertoph should have between 4 to 5 cups of flour.
I am using whole wheat instead of the part bread flour in the recipe but I do sift out the big bits. The crumb has plenty of holes (not huge) and the texture is perfect. It comes out of the baker about 2" in height maybe slightly more.
In the last loaf I added a teaspoon of instant yeast but it did not make a difference in the rise.
I have thought about making the loaf slightly larger to get the rise in the baker but then will it be too large for the banneton?

I am new to this so I am in a learning curve.

Have you tried a cold final proof, either long and entirely in the refrigerator, or you can do room temperature for a while and then a couple hours in the refrigerator.

The point would be to get the dough cold so that’s a bit stiffer. When you load it into your baking vessel, this gives it a slightly better chance of growing up instead out out, in my opinion.

1 Like

I make the Artisan Rye fairly often and use a mixing bowl in place of a banneton and a 3 quart cast iron dutch oven (9.5 at top and 7.5 on the bottom), so a bit apples and oranges per your question. However, I do as @Fermentada suggests: a cold final proof. I score cold which works better with the rye I believe and into a preheated dutch oven. It rises nicely with good oven spring. I start at 500F for 5 minutes and then down to 475 for 25 minutes before taking the lid off. 10-15 minutes lid off depending how it looks.