Aging freshly milled flour

Do you need to age freshly milled flour? I am relatively new to baking sourdough and recently bought a mill and several types of wheat berries. I am seeing varying information on aging flour from not at all to 10 days and longer. What do most of you that mill your own grain do?

@jcheroki Good morning! I’m a fairly novice baker who uses Breadtopia’s organic high protein bread flour for my bread flour component to my dough and then I do mill a couple different wheat berries for the whole grain component of the recipe.

I honestly know nothing about the concept of aging flour. I don’t even know what that is! For health and safety all I do is place my bags of wheat berries in the freezer for at least 10 days before I use any of it. The only reason I do that is to kill any potential insect larvae that could be present in the grain before I use it. I use my freezer to completely store my wheat berries anyway so as I restock my supply of berries, they just sit in my freezer until I need them. When I’m going to bake I just remove the portion of berries I need for that single recipe. I spread them out on a platter or cookie sheet and let them come to room temperature before milling them. I have a Mockmill 100 stone mill and to protect the integrity of the stones so that mold doesn’t grow on the stones the grain can’t have any moisture on it before milling. All it takes is about 30 minutes for the grain to sit out on my counter to come to room temperature and any potential ice crystals to disappear. That’s pretty much the extent of how I handle the berries. I keep my bread flour in my refrigerator. Any additional bags are in my freezer with my berries.

I don’t know if that answers your question or not but honestly, that’s all I do.

Baking blessings to you,
Leah