Joe's No Knead Rye Recipe

Originally published at:

To leave a comment, click the Reply button below

If you don't see the "Reply" button, you will need to log in or register an account. Please click the blue "Log In" button in the upper right of the page. :arrow_upper_right:

Hi, I’ve been making NK bread for a few months now (without fail every week) with both my sourdough starter and my store bought active dry yeast. They’ve always turned out delicious, with quite a bit of rise, the perfect crust and everyone loves them. However, i must say i am completely miffed by the Rye NK recipe. I’ve tried it twice and both times, after the proof, i’ve just ended with a very sticky gooey dough which i couldn’t proceed with. What am i doing wrong? I am not using Molasses, my ratio has been 3/4 cup rye + 2 1/4 cup bread flour, 1 1/2 cup water. My Sourdough starter is fed a 50-50 by weight ratio of bread flour + whole wheat flour… but even with yeast, i had the same result. What am i missing? Any help/suggestions would be really appreciated!
Thanks

I should have read the comment above before proceeding. Not sure what I did wrong either. I used sourdough starter instead of yeast, but a 1/4 cup as Eric suggests when substituting starter for yeast. After the first proofing, which did go longer than expected (22 hrs), this dough is a sticky mess. I kept on adding more flour just so I could handle it to get it into the proofing basket. I must of used at least another 1/2 cup of flour when trying to form it (which still wasn’t enough) and lost about 1/2 cup of dough on my fingers and pastry scraper. So far this has been my worst experience in making NK bread. I will be really upset if I have to throw this away.

@Leah1 I think this is the nyc diner rye we’ve been talking about :slight_smile: