Artisan Sourdough Rye Bread

This is the comment thread for the Breadtopia blog post originally published here:

To leave a comment, click the Reply button below

If you do not see the "Reply" button, you will need to log in or register an account. Please click the blue "Log In" button in the upper right of the page. :arrow_upper_right:
4 Likes

I have been baking bread for more than 40 yrs now, since my hippie days. And up until a few month ago I had an ancient sourdough starter, but alas and alack she died. So I’ve started with a new one. It is lovely. I’ve been making pumpernickel for my “boyfriend” since I started making regular sourdough for myself, again. I scan the Internet for different recipes all the time esp for the pumpernickel since its new to me. (He says why don’t you just stick to one) well you know how that goes. So I’m making this Artisan Sourdough Rye. I can’t wait to see how it turns out and how he likes it. He’s laughing that I got up at 8am to finish it! I’m not a morning person. It’s on its 2nd rise and looks lovely, not too sticky, nice rise, good shape. I want to thank everyone who contributed comments! Turns out you’re not too old to learn new tricks! Heehee!d

1 Like

This bread turned out so beautiful and delicious. I didn’t have anise or orange and can’t wait to make it again with the missing ingredients.

I think this is the most beautiful loaf I’ve ever made! And it does taste GREAT!

2 Likes

I love this bread, thank you Eric for the recipes and video tutorials. I’m not sure if any other recipe can beat this! I loved it and the whole family did as well. Just out of interest, what happens if I just use my sourdough from the fridge without feeding it?

1 Like